The Assembly - Motion Controls Announced

We are pleased to announce that we have been working on an update for The Assembly which includes motion control functionality. This isn’t just for HTC Vive, but also for Oculus Touch and PlayStation Move too. Additionally, the game is reduced this week on Steam and Oculus. More information on all this and more below!

The Assembly Motion Control Screen Vive 01

Motion Controller Support

When we launched The Assembly on PC, we heard the voices of the community and while many VR gamers were excited to play the game, others were disappointed by the lack of motion control support. As a VR developer and publisher, we respect and admire how passionate the community feels towards this exciting and creative medium, so we’ve taken this feedback onboard. The new update gives players the ability to enjoy The Assembly using motion controls and roomscale.

In this video, The Assembly’s Game Director Jamie Whitworth takes you through the motion control patch’s new features and functions:

The patch for HTC Vive will be released tomorrow via Steam at 9am PT / 5pm GMT. There will be an equivalent update for both Oculus Touch and PlayStation Move arriving before the end of December, with dates to be confirmed soon.

We’d love to hear your thoughts about this update – please let us know through the Steam or Oculus forums, or through our dedicated Reddit, Facebook and Twitter pages.

The Assembly Motion Control Screen Vive 04

The Assembly on Sale

To celebrate this content update, The Assembly will be included in the Steam Thanksgiving Sale at 35% off the game’s RRP. From Tuesday 22nd at 9am PT / 5pm GMT to Tuesday 29th November at 10am PT / 6pm GMT, the game can be purchased for the discounted price of £12.99 / €16.24 / $19.49. Check it out on our Steam store page.

The Assembly will also be 33% off in the Oculus Thanksgiving Sale, take a look at our Oculus Home store page.

The Assembly Motion Control Screen Vive 03

Also – Free Stuff! 

We are also excited to release additional free content that is available to new and existing owners of The Assembly on Steam, including the official soundtrack, script, desktop wallpapers, and a complete version of our behind the scenes video series. These will be available as a free download on Steam tomorrow. 

The Assembly Array 7

Any questions?

Please get in touch with us via community@ndreams.com or through The Assembly's Facebook page. Alternatively, feel free to tweet us via @nDreamsVR with the hashtag #TheAssemblyVR.

The Assembly Motion Control Screen Vive 02

Sign up for latest news